Our Vision

  • To become the most Prosperous District in Sri Lanka


Our Mission

  • Our Mission is the effective coordination and maneuver of resources and institutes to accomplish the public requirements efficiently, reasonably, legitimately and amiably to ensure a sustainable development in the district.

Anuradhapura kingdom was collapsed in 1017 A.D. , when king Mihidu the Fifth taken to India by Chola King Raja Raja and his son Rajendra. Then Polonnaruwa became the capital of Sri Lanka. “Solees” called Polonnaruwa even as “Jananathapuram”. Kings in Anuradhapura developed Polonnaruwa as a secondary city as the availability of water resources and soil conducive for paddy cultivation. In this context Elahera Canal was constructed by Wasaba in 67-111 A.D and Minneriya and Kaudulla reservoirs were constructed by King Mahasen in 365-406 A.D. Thopawewa and Girithale reservoirs were respectively constructed by Upatissa the First and Aggabodhi the second. Polonnaruwa was located in a significant place in security aspect.
King Wijayabahu the Great (1055-1110 A.D) became the first king of Polonnaruwa who liberated the country from “Solees” . He renovated all the reservoirs and temples in the area and initiated economical development of the country. Then Jayabahu, Wickramabahu and Gajabahu became kings of Polonnaruwa. Subsequently, the most prolific ruler of Polonnaruwa king Parakkramabahu the Great became king of Polonnaruwa. (1153– 1186 A.D) He could develop not only Polonnaruwa but also the whole country and Sri Lanka became the “Granary of the East”. After the demise of king Parakkramabahu the Great king Nissankamalla , queen Leelawathi became the monarchs of Polonnaruwa.
Administration as well as the economy was in total disarray due to poor governance of kings at that time and Kalinga Maga (1214 A.D) exploited the situation and invaded the Rajarata area and accordingly the kingdom was shifted the south eastern part of the country and this area was covered by forest. Refurbishment of archeological monuments that were covered by forest and earth was started by the Department of Archeology formed during British rule. Such activities are presently done by Central Cultural Fund. Currently Polonnaruwa has named as a world heritage city.
At present vast development being taking place in Polonnaruwa under “Pibidemu Polonnaruwa” project which is implemented under the patronage of His Excellency Maithreepala Sirisena the president of Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.


Boundaries of the Polonnaruwa District

  • Polonnaruwa district is situated in a plain valley of Mahaweli river in North Central Province in Sri Lanka and 216 kilometers away from Colombo and further it is the main city of the district as well. Total land extent of the district is 3337.9 square kilometers. District is located between Northern latitude 7’40” – 8’ 21” and Eastern longitude 80’ 44” – 81’ 20” and elevation is 50-500 meters. District is being bounded to Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Ampara, Matale and Anuradhapura districts.


Annual average temperature of Polonnaruwa district is 28.6c° and it is increasing up to 36.8c° during the month of July and August which is considered as higher temperature period  and it decreases down 20.6c° during the month of January and February which is considered as low temperature period. Polonnaruwa district  experiences  rainfall from North East Monsoon and it is reported from September to January. Annual average rainfall is 119.78mm


Name List of The Government Agent's

No. Name From To
1 C.E.M. Amarasekara 1952 1953
2 C.D. Fonseka 1954 1955
3 W.T. Jayasingha 1955.10.20 1958.06.01
4 D.R.L.Balasooriya 1958.06.02 1960.12.11
5 W.A.B.C. Senarath Nandadewa 1960.12.12 1961.03.31
6 W.R.P. Thilakarathna  1961.04.01 1964.01.01 
7 Ivan Samarawickrama 1964.01.01 1967.08.08
8 K.H.J Wijedasa 1967.08.08 1970.07.02
9 Sooriyagoda Kapilarathna Banda 1970.07.02 1971.06.06
10 R.K.C. Chandananda De Silva 1971.06.06 1972.01.02 
11 T. Amaradasa Gunawardana 1972.01.03  1978.03.01
12 Austin Fernando 1978.03.01 1980.02.29 
13 H.M.W. Samarakoon 1980.03.01 1982.08.26 
14 U.G. Jayasingha 1982.08.27  1992.11.25
15 G.H.K. Abekoon  1992.11.26  2000.05.20
16 S.A.P. Makehelwala  2000.05.21  2001.10.09 
17 T.M. Abeyawicrama  2001.10.10 2002.10.30
18 R.M.M.B. Rathnayaka 2003.08.04 2004.07.22
19 J. Ranjith Wijethilaka 2004.07.16 2008.10.08
20 A.A.G. Hunupolagama  2008.10.08 2008.10.23 
21 Nimal Abeysiri  2008.10.21  2015.03.15
22 T.P.Pabasilee Jayalath 2015.03.16  2015.03.25
23 S. Senanayaka 2015.03.26 2016.11.20
24 Ranjith Ariyarathna 2016.11.21 2018.08.14
25 Panduka S.P. Abewardhana 2018.08.15 2020.02.17
26 W.A.Dharmasiri 2020.02.18 Present